International Safety Norms
Meet today's standards
to be the reference for future ones
Compliance with international standards means that the design process and resulting product are in accordance with internationally recognized rules that ensure maximum performance, especially when human lives are at stake.
Inxpect safety radar systems are certified according to the highest standards and the latest safety regulations: LBK system is SIL2 certified in accordance with the IEC/EN 62061 standard and is classified Pld in accordance with the ISO 13849 standard. It is the first safety radar system (and to date, the only radar system) in the world that complies with these standards, which are summarized as follows.
EN/IEC 61508
This standard defines a general approach for all activities related to safety during the entire lifespan of the product for systems that include electrical and/or electronic programmable elements (E/E/P/E) used for performing safety functions. One of the main objectives is to facilitate the development of products and applications according to international standards based on the IEC 61508 series.
EN/IEC 62061
This standard is specific to the machines sector within the framework of EN/IEC 61508. It defines the rules for integration of subsystems designed according to EN/ISO 13849. It does not refer to requirements for non-electrical components of the machines (e.g. hydraulic or pneumatic).
ISO 13849
This standard sets forth the safety requirements and recommendations relative to principles for design and integration of parts related to safety on control systems (SRP/CS), including SW design. For these parts this standard specifies the characteristics, including performance levels, that are necessary for implementing these safety functions. It is applied to the SRP/CS of all types of machines, regardless of the technology and type of power used (electrical, hydraulic, pneumatic, mechanical, etc.).
Safety Integrity Level: a discrete level (from one to four) corresponding to the range of values for safety integrity, where the safety integrity level “4“ represents the highest level, with “1“ being the lowest.
Performance level: this is a discrete level used to specify the capacity of the parts related to safety to perform safety functions in foreseeable conditions. The performance level “e” is the highest, with “a” being the lowest.

Are you interested in radars? Try our products